The law firm of Becker, Hoerner & Ysursa, P.C., has extensive experience in local government law, assisting school districts, municipalities, counties and townships throughout Southern Illinois in addressing various legal issues and matters, including:

  • public meetings and hearings conducted by governing bodies and their committees
  • drafting of ordinances, resolutions and motions
  • drafting of and consultation on policies and procedures
  • routine communications and consultation with administration
  • drafting of and consultation on contracts
  • student and/or employee disciplinary matters
  • collective-bargaining negotiations and grievance arbitrations with Unions
  • other personnel issues
  • finance matters
  • construction matters
  • property transactions
  • zoning, planning and development matters
  • other municipal regulation matters
  • civil litigation defense in State and Federal Courts
  • worker’s compensation litigation defense before the Illinois Industrial Commission
  • administrative litigation before Local, State and Federal agencies
    • U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
    • U.S. Department of Education Office of Civil Rights
    • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
    • Federal Communications Commission
    • Illinois Department of Human Rights
    • Illinois Human Rights Commission
    • Illinois State Board of Education
    • Illinois Educational Labor Relations Board
    • Illinois Labor Relations Board
    • Illinois Department of Public Health
    • Illinois Environmental Protection Agency
    • Illinois Property Tax Appeal Board
    • Boards of Review of St. Clair and Madison Counties

Our comprehensive knowledge of municipal law matters allows us to help clients proactively address issues as we work together to tailor solutions focused on the immediate and long-term needs of our clients. Our local government clients include:

  • St. Clair County
  • City of Belleville
  • City of Fairview Heights
  • Village of Sauget
  • Stookey Township
  • East St. Louis Park District
  • Southwestern Illinois College
  • St. Clair County Regional Office of Education
  • East St. Louis School District No. 189
  • Cahokia Unit School District No. 187
  • Central School District No. 104
  • Belle-Valley School District No. 119
  • Millstadt School District No. 160
  • Wood River-Hartford School District No. 15
  • Illinois Counties Risk Management Trust
  • Illinois Counties Insurance Trust
  • Illinois Public Risk Fund
  • Workers’ Compensation Self-Insurance Trust

We encourage you to contact us so that we can understand how we can bring our approach to help you and your organization address any legal challenges that you face.

Consultation Request

Schedule an initial consultation with our St. Clair County attorneys at our Belleville office

Contact Us